As a partnership, Te Ira Kāwai – The Auckland Regional Biobank (ARB), consulted widely with Iwi nationally, regionally and locally during the early establishment of the ARB. The ARB is governed by the University of Auckland through the Dean of the Faculty of Medical and Health Sciences with representation from the wider community, mana whenua, researchers and the health sector.

The governance of ARB includes the following boards and groups:

Tangata whenua are represented at all levels in the ARB.

Governance Advisory Board.

Tereki Stewart (Nga Puhi)

Dame Naida Glavish (Ngati Whatua)

Scientific Advisory Board

Professor Papaarangi Reid, Tumuaki and Head of Te Kupenga Hauora Māori at the Faculty of Medical and Health Sciences, University of Auckland (Te Rarawa)

Maui Hudson, Waikato University (Whakatōhea, Ngā Ruahine and Te Māhurehure)

Dr Helen Wihongi, Auckland District Health Board, Waitemata DHB (Ngati Porou, Nga Puhi)

Dr Robin Quigg, (Raukawa)