Scientific Advisory Board

The Academic Scientific Advisory Board is responsible for:

  • Setting policy, and reviewing significant ethical and cultural matters
  • Encouraging strong clinical and scientific input from academics
  • Scientific leadership and strategic advice, and reviewing applications for the use of tissues
  • Ensuring tissue banking activities are of the highest standard, and that these activities meet the expectations of the funders and relevant stakeholders
  • Decision-making on whether tissue and clinical information should be provided for approved research projects
  • Ensuring the ARB incorporates tikanga Māori and Māori participation in governance and kaitiakitunga. The ARB follows the principles outlined in He Tangata Kei Tua ‒ Guidelines for Biobanking with Māori.


Position Current Membership
Chair, Senior Scientist Professor Cristin Print
Tumuaki, Faculty of Medical and Health Sciences Professor Papaarangi Reid
Waitemata District Health Board Dr Wayne Miles
Waitemata District Health Board Dr Reena Ramsaroop
Auckland District Health Board Dr Amanda Charlton
Counties Manakau District Health Board Mr Jonathan Mathy
Counties Manukau District Health Board Dr Samar Issa
Research Advisor – Māori, Auckland and Waitemata District Health Boards Dr Helen Wihongi
Lay representative (University of Otago) Dr Robin Quigg
University of Auckland scientist Professor Stefan Bohlander
University of Auckland scientist Professor Robert Doughty
Ex officio  
Clinical Director, ARB Professor Peter Browett
Manager, ARB Dr Tony Frugier
Strategic Engagement Manager, Auckland Academic Health Alliance Megan Putterill
Ethics and Scientific Advisor, ARB Dr Cherie Blenkiron
Technical Services Manager, Faculty of Medical and Health Sciences Ray Gilbert